The Stuffed Gem Squash

by Anda Mtshemla

Like most people, I’m still working on improving my relationship with veggies. I could likely count on one hand the number of vegetables I actually eat for enjoyment rather than for nutritional value. Gem squash, I must say, is not on the “eating for enjoyment” list. In fact, I find it a little obscure and kind of an annoying vegetable. Okay, so you’re like, a tiny pumpkin? Congratulations on being the bland, underachieving member of the squash family.

Gem squash, I must say, is not on the “eating for enjoyment” list. In fact, I find it a little obscure and kind of an annoying vegetable. Like, okay, you’re a tiny pumpkin? Congratulations on being the bland, underachieving member of the squash family.

All squash comparisons aside though, even I have found a way to enjoy this veggie that always finds it’s way into my mom’s pantry and stares me in the face, practically daring me to love eating it.

You will need:

3 gem squash, halved

1 cup white quinoa

1 cup mushrooms, sliced

1 red onion, diced

2 cups vegetable stock

salt and pepper to taste

nutritional yeast (optional)

Method:

Scoop out the seeds of each half of gem squash

Season each with salt and pepper

Place each half, face down, onto a baking tray

Place into 180°C oven for 15-20mins

while those bake away…

Over medium heat, cook your onions  in a saucepan until translucent

Add mushrooms and stir until all is cooked

Set the onion and mushrooms aside

Add quinoa to saucepan along with half of the vegetable stock

Stir quinoa until stock is absorbed then add the remainder of the stock, cover and leave to simmer until fully absorbed

Spoon quinoa into gem squash halves and top each one with the onion and mushroom mixture

Sprinkle nutritional yeast over top if desired and serve

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Quinoa stuffed gem squash, which I dared to make delicious

 

 

Leave a Reply

