The Chocolate Chip Cookies

by Anda Mtshemla

Pre-vegan me enjoyed chocolate chip cookies so much that I  nearly considered not going vegan thinking that I would have to give up my favourite sweet treat. While I did, for a while, because no cookie was cutting close to the decadent, crunchy-outer-soft-centre biccies that I was used to, I gathered inspiration from all over the internet and poked and tweaked and I’ve found it.

They’re so simple, I almost always already have all these ingredients in my pantry so I’ve found myself making these regularly over the past couple of months, which has been quite naughty of me… But since Christmas is coming up and Santa is on his way, I’ve paired the cookies up with some cinnamon oat milk and I’m going to serve this combo up to Santa on Christmas Eve in the hopes that he’ll forgive me!

PREP TIME: 10mins  COOK TIME: 12-15mins  MAKES: 12

You will need:

1 cup dark chocolate chips/1 slab dark chocolate, chopped

3/4 cup soy milk

1 cup sugar

2 cups All-Purpose Flour

6 tablespoons refined coconut oil

1/2 tsp salt

For cinnamon oat milk:

1 cup rolled oats

2 cups water

1 tsp ground cinnamon

Method:

Preheat oven to 180ºC/350°F

Lightly grease/line baking pan

Cream sugar and coconut oil together

Add milk and stir until well combined

 

Add salt to flour and gradually stir into the wet mix

Gently fold in chocolate chips/chunks

Roll a tablespoon’s worth of mixture into ball and place on tray

Pop into the oven and bake for 12-15 minutes

While the cookies cool…

Pour rolled oats and cinnamon into a clean bowl and add water until covered

Leave to soak for 20 minutes or overnight

Once soaked, drain the excess water and pour oats into a blender with 1-2 cups of cold water

Blend for 1 minute

Pass blended mixture through a mesh strainer a few times until only smooth, milk remains

Voila!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Vegan chocolate chip cookies served with cinnamon oat milk

Leave a Reply

